Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Edwin Okon Lists Oshoala, Nwabuoku, Nkwocha And 20 Others For World Cup

Falcons celebrate. PhotoCredit:
Head coach of Super Falcons, Edwin Okon has released his list of 23 players for the 7th FIFA Women’s World Cup finals starting in Canada next week, including BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year Asisat Oshoala, team captain Evelyn Nwabuoku and veteran goalkeeper Precious Dede.

Top Scorer at the 2014 African Women Championship Desire Oparanozie, defenders Onome Ebi, Josephine Chukwunonye and Ngozi Ebere, midfielder Halimatu Ayinde, veteran striker Perpetua Nkwocha and England-based Ini-Abasi Umotong are also included, as well as US –based forward Francisca Ordega.

There was no place for goalkeeper Sandra Chiichi, 2012 FIFA U-17 World Cup top scorer Chinwendu Ihezuo and Nasarawa Amazons defender Mariam Ibrahim.

Nigeria play Sweden, Australia and USA in Group D at the 7th FIFA Women’s World Cup, with their first match against Sweden in Winnipeg on Monday, 8th June.

Goalkeepers: Precious Dede (Ibom Angels); Christy Ohiaeriaku (Rivers Angels); Ibubeleye Whyte (Rivers Angels)

Defenders: Blessing Edoho (Pelican Stars); Osinachi Ohale (Rivers Angels); Onome Ebi (FC Minsk, Belarus); Josephine Chukwunonye (Rivers Angels); Ugo Njoku (Rivers Angels); Ngozi Ebere (Rivers Angels); Sarah Nnodim (Nasarawa Amazons)

Midfielders: Evelyn Nwabuoku (BIIK Kazygurt, Kazakhstan); Halimatu Ayinde (Delta Queens); Martina Ohadugha (Rivers Angels); Cecilia Nku (Rivers Angels)

Forwards: Perpetua Nkwocha (Clemensnas IF, Sweden); Esther Sunday (FC Minsk, Belarus); Asisat Oshoala (Liverpool Ladies, England); Desire Oparanozie (En Avant Guingamp, France); Ngozi Okobi (Delta Queens); Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA); Loveth Ayila (Rivers Angels); Courtney Dike (Oklahoma State University, USA); Iniabasi Umotong (Portsmouth Ladies, England)

No comments:

Post a Comment